Sunshine Sprint Pacing Preview

Sunshine Sprint Pacing Preview

Albion Park in Queensland will be lit up this Saturday night with the Sunshine Sprint – a Group 2 free for all with a very generous $50,000 purse.

The field is stacked with some big competitors, which includes the likes of Be Good Johnny (barrier one), Washakie (barrier 9), and Be Diligent (barrier three) who very recently nearly broke the Albion Park track record earlier on in the week. The gelding completed the track in 1:52.1, which was just 0.7 off of the record set last week.

Plenty of eyes will be on the American horse Mr Feelgood who’s sitting in a nice position after drawing barrier five. The colt has posted a best time of 1:52.1, just ahead of competitor Be Diligent. He’s had 14 starts this season with five first place finishes, four second place finishes, and one third. He counts the Little Brown Jug, Hunter Cup, and Westpac Pacing Cup among his wins. The Lola Weidemann-driven horse is among the favourites to win, particularly since the main competition didn’t get quite so lucky when it came to the draw.

Fox Valley Appeal, a compatriot of the American Mr Feelgood, could have posed a decent threat had the Luke McCarthy-driven gelding not drawn on the second row. Joining him in a hampered position is New Zealand’s Washakie. This gelding, trained by JP McCarthy, has taken seven first place finishes over the course of the season and racked up more than $400,000 in prize money. He counts the Treuer Memorial and WA Pacing Cup among his wins.

Other horses to note include Rohan Home (barrier 4) and Destreos (barrier 7). The former is the Queensland 4 & 5yo Champion while the ladder is a known free for all performer. The Sunshine Sprint will be held at 9:09pm on Saturday night as a main event in the Sky Racing Winter Carnival. Be sure to place your bets at as you won’t find better odds available for this Queensland pacing event.

2010 Sunshine Sprint Field & Barrier Draw







1 s1622
Be Good Johnny
JP McCarthy Shane Graham C29 M23
2 11s52
Tip Your Hat
CEM Martin Rob Martin C21 M14
3 31311
Be Diligent
CEM Martin Lola Weidemann C24 M7
4 14131
Rohan Home
PRJ Fitzpatrick Gavin Fitzpatrick C13 M6
5 13111
Mr Feelgood USA
LA McCarthy Luke McCarthy C26 M21
6 19143
Beef City Beau
JP McCarthy Ricky Thurlow C12 M6
7 15545
Destreos NZ
KL Rattray Darrel Graham C25 M8
Second Row
8 37322
Fox Valley Appeal USA
DL Smith Mathew Neilson C18 M11
9 18s21
Washakie NZ
JP McCarthy John McCarthy C23 M16
10 13520
Smarty Jones
GM Bond Gary Bond C13 M5
11 21144
Rockets Reject
IC Wilson Jim Douglass (C) C15 M4