Watpac Carousel Included in ‘Group One’ Meeting at Menangle

Watpac Carousel Included in ‘Group One’ Meeting at Menangle

Media Release: NSWHRC

The time-honoured Carousel has been afforded the exposure a race of its stature deserves by featuring at Tabcorp Park Menangle’s ‘Group One’ meeting on Friday night, 23rd April, and also has a new sponsor in building giant Watpac.

The Watpac Carousel will compliment the four Group (ne races being held on the night – the Australian Pacing Gold (2YO Fillies), Christian Cullen NSW Derby, Cordina Chickens Ladyship Mile and Tabcorp Len Smith Mile.

With a $25, 000 final, the Watpac Carousel is set to attract many of the state’s up-and-coming pacers, which is something the race has always been able to boast.

Past winners of the Carousel include inaugural winner Koala Frost in 1968, the then unbeaten Lucky Creed, Apri Ski, Smooth Crusa, Rollon Bigred and Trusty Courage last year.

Father and son combination JE (John) and DJ (Darren) Binskin have almost made the Carousel their own, winning the Final on no less than five occasions. From Rusty Thor in 1976 through to Highview Ana in 1996 t6he Binskins have been dominant. Along the way the Condell Park horsemen won with Garry Ayr, Kotare Cruise and Rebhan in the slop at Harold Park.

The leading names in harness racing appear on the Honour Roll including Vic Frost (Lucky Creed and Sailors Corner), Frank Willis (Mount Hobson and Jayare’s Dream), Kevin Robinson (Adios Nero and Matong Way) and Peter Morris Snr (Corrie Dale and Melina’s Thor).

The tradition of winners only into the Watpac Carousel Final will continue unless there are fewer Heats than the ten positions available.

Heats of the Watpac Carousel for pacers assessed C2 to C5 will be conducted at Bankstown on Monday 5th April for $5,000 over the 2140 metres journey.

Further Heats will be held at Penrith on Thursday 15th April for $6,000 over 2095 metres and Tabcorp Park Menangle for $5,500 over 2300 metres (the same distance as the Final) on Monday 19th April.

For further information please contact:

NSWHRC Chief Executive

John Dumesny

Ph: (02) 9660 3688